Case of the Mondays? I think not!

I’m not the best writer in the world and I will never even come close to winning any awards or getting anything published but I’m completely alright with that. I it comes down to writing for me, I can write about anything that happens in my life and enjoy it while the exact opposite is true for school papers or anything that doesn’t directly affect me, my well-being or my life. I write mostly because it makes me feel better, it makes me feel better, more calm to write my frustrations instead of acting on them on impulse or out of pure emotion without heeding the consequences. Mostly when life throws me a curve ball and my world turns completely upside-down. Which leads me to this…

Mark today on your calendars. February 4th, 2013. I, Russell Regulinski am actually enjoying a Monday! THIS IS CRAZY I KNOW! I hate mornings and more importantly, I strongly dislike Mondays with a burning passion of a thousand burning hot blue super-gigantic suns but, today is truly a glorious day for copious reasons and let me tell you.. I haven’t been in this good of a mood for quite sometime and it feels fan-freaking-tastic.

Let me start off by trying to form words on last nights utterly magical, gut-wrenching, nail-bitter of a super bowl in New Orleans. I am still trying to contain myself from last nights win and it still feels quite surreal to be entirely honest. I didn’t think that I would see another Baltimore Ravens super bowl this soon frankly because before Joe “cool” Flacco became our quarterback, the team was relying solely on the magnificent defense lead by the future Hall-of-Famer, number 52, Ray Lewis. We would have an okay record most years, with a chance at the wildcard but lose every time we made it there. Kinda frustrating. Oh and did I mention that we had the devil on our team? aka Kyle Boller. But these dark days are behind us and we have made the playoffs 5 straight years under head coach John Harbaugh and with “smoking” Joe Flacco under the helm. And now we have a second Lombardi trophy!

Now I like to think that when I burst out of the whom, I was decked out in purple and black to symbolize the eventual creation of the Baltimore Ravens. I was born a Ravens fan (even if they hadn’t actually moved from Cleveland yet) and will continue to be one for the rest of my life. I bleed purple and black unless they decide to change cities in the middle of the night again like the colts did… My parents can attest to my devotion to the team because every Sunday during football season you can find me decked out in my Suggs or Heap jersey, purple and black plaid ravens pants, holding my signed ravens football signed by Willis McGahee, and drinking from my 2000 Super Bowl XXXV mug. My parents like football but not to the extent that I do and regularly choose to watch the game in another room because I get quite vocal. I get far too stressed out over games then I should but i wouldn’t have it any other way; it’s Baltimore football.

I got extremely stressed out last night and was having panic attacks after that “power outage” incident. Beyond pissed about that still, we had all the momentum and were about to steam roll the 49ers but instead, they found new life and came back… I’m so glad and thankful that our defense held at the end but I lost 10-15 years off my life easily because of it. Words cannot accurately describe the roller coaster of emotions I was feeling last night. My heart was hurting and my body couldn’t physically take it, I felt as though I was going to vomit all over the place… Imagine all the weirdest, most awkward body and facial expressions possible and that doesn’t even slightly describe it. I suppose it is just one of those “had to be there” moments but I was going crazy literally physically and mentally.

Now that that is out-of-the-way (I hope I at least put a picture in your mind because that is literally the best I can describe the game..) I can tell you about the two other things that make today such a monumental day.. Should go by a little quicker I think.

The last two things that make today so utterly fantastic is the fact that there is a new episode of My favorite TV show available tonight. Top Gear. I always look forward to watching this show whether it be a re-run or a new episode. And what makes it better is that I will be watching it with my Bros! Cannot wait. And lastly, today marks the first practice for the swim team for the spring semester. I can finally get back in the pool and feel at home. Time to shed those pounds I gained over winter break and get back into shape!

Leave a Reply

